top of page

Suspended Red

There are no possible ways we could possibly express our consciousness and besides that our memories are involuntary. Thus there are no stories, no realities. There are only sensations and feelings. This image is one in my photo essay that has been devised and developed from the sensations and tensions found in Francis Bacon´s work. He intends to neutralize the storytelling, the illustration and the figuration. In this red work, I created images by rubbing my head on a printer scanner glass. I have copied my face several times, provoking disfigurements with the intention of creating "volatile" images. In this state of suspension we are vulnerable, we have no control over our lives, our body will soon disintegrate. Helena Tiexeir Rios hteixeirarios@gmail.com

bottom of page